Jssor Slider Image
Jssor Slider Image
Jssor Slider Image
Jssor Slider Image

"Fantastic, peaceful, comfortable cottage" - Review Submitted: April 21, 2014

We were 2 adults and 2 young children and had a fabulous week's stay in one of the cottages. The cottage felt remote and yet was only 20-25 mins from York. Night times were spent relaxing in front of the wee fire, barbequing or outside stargazing and listening to the sounds of the countryside. Judy could not have been a more attentive host and really went out of her way to make our stay very enjoyable.


"An excellent and very interesting stay" - Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2014

I had a lovely time in our stay at 'Thorganby Farm Cottages', York. The cottage was very interesting and beautifully presented with first class furniture and fittings obviously chosen with care. i felt that Judy looked after us very well and was an excellent hostess which enhanced our stay in Thorganby. The cottage is in a beautiful quiet location with easy access to York and the coast.
I can thoroughly recommend this lovely place and will certainly return to stay in the near future.


"It was a pleasure to enjoy these days in the cottage" - Review Submitted: April 21, 2014

We are a Spanish couple with two small children (4 & 7). We stayed at Thorganby Farm Cottages for 10 days while we were trying to find long term acomodation in York. We found the cottage very well equipped, clean and nicely decorated. Internet was working without problems. The children loved playing in the garden and very much enjoyed the countryside. Judy was extremely friendly and very helpful all the time. It was a pleasure to enjoy these days in her cottage.

After the ten days we had to leave for a few days to another holiday acomodation because Judy´s cottages were previously booked, and she let us have our car rooftop cargo box full of our stuff in her premises for more than a week. The other accomodation we went in the surroundings of York was not half as good as Judy´s and we really missed being at Thorganby Farm Cottages.

I will definitely recommend this accomodation to family and friends.


"Wonderful quiet place, just what we needed" - Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2013

Arrived at Thorganby Farm Cottages and was greeted by Judy and her two friendly funny dogs, She showed us to our barn conversion and it was really nice, with a yummy cake in the kitchen ready to be eaten! It was a lovely barn conversion – “the Celandine Cottage” with an open kitchen/diner, bedroom and bathroom, it was so homely and with everything you could want. A nice outdoor setting where we had our breakfast listening to the birds and 'rooster'. The setting of the farm is a couple of miles out of Thorganby which suited us fine as my partner had just arrived from Australia and so a few days of peace of quiet was on the books to get over the jet lag (& catch up on the goss!) so it was absolutely perfect.

There are a lot of places of interest to visit by Thorganby Farm Cottages so it's in a very convenient location. York is wonderful, in fact the whole of Yorkshire is wonderful! There is a park and ride not too far away (Judy gave us instructions of how to get there), free parking and the bus into York is cheap, well worth it. We just can't wait to go back again on our next visit to England. We could have stayed there forever actually. Thank you Judy for a very welcoming stay.


"Ist Class Accommodation in lovely location" - Review Submitted: July 19, 2013

My husband and I had a very relaxing break in this well maintained and spotlessly clean cottage. The owner, Judy, was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the company of her dogs too.


"Quiet, Relaxing and Freindly" - Review Submitted: May 7, 2013

The cottage was clean and very well equipped and a warming log burner, like a home from home and only a short drive or bus ride to all the major attractions of York and surrounding areas. Judy the owner (and her two lovely dogs) were welcoming and very friendly.

The gardens are well maintained with beautiful flowers, shrubs and lawn The surrounding fields have horses and sheep.

In the local village there are a couple of great pubs that serve good food, wines and real ales and a small Cost Cutter shop that sell all your essentials - food, beer ect.

If you want a totally quiet and relaxing break in a great location with easy access to historical sites of York this is the place to be.

We shall definitely be returning later on in the year to recharge our batteries


"Peaceful, calm and well equipped" - Review Submitted: April 3, 2013

A perfect spot for our short Easter break with two young children (4 and 6 years old). A very peaceful spot with a lovely pub which welcomes kids nearby and plenty of space for them to run around in.

Travel time is 20 minutes in to York where we spent the most time exploring. The property itself was warm and cosy and had everything we required in it when we arrived (including some Easter treats from the owner).


"Peaceful and off the beaten track!" - Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2012

The cottage is situated down a lane called "Southmoor Road" which is 1.5 miles away from the village passing through farm lands, so it is well away from the traffic and any noise. Situated on a farm where there are sheep in the field and hens with their chicks wondering around while we were there and my wife and I found it a great place to relax.

The cottage has everything you to help you self cater or pop up to the Jefferson Arms for a fabulous meal and a cool glass of wine or real ale. Also a very good area to have your base as York and Selby are not that far away by car or drive part of the way and get the Park and Ride No 7 bus from the design centre. If you do have a freedom pass this is the cheapest way to get into York 60p. The cost of renting the cottage is great value for money and I will recommend this break to my freinds and family.

There is a lot to see in the East Ridings of Yorkshire and many attractions local to the cottage including Horse riding and Fishing.